- The Average Monthly Cost of Driving a Car
- Deduction of a Car Used Between Home and Work When You Are Self-Employed
- What Happens to Your Credit if You Return a Leased Car & Pay the Difference?
- Does It Make Sense to Trade a Car in Every Year for a New Car?
- How Far Do You Need to Drive to Have Mileage Tax Deductions?
- How to Calculate Title Insurance Paid by a Seller
For most teens, reaching the legal driving age is a huge milestone in their lives. Probably long before your teen actually passes the driving test, he's dreamed of the car he wants to get. If you give a vehicle to your teen to use, you can assign the car title over to him. Title transfers are fairly straightforward; however, your state may have laws regarding teens owning property that impact this process.
Contact the DMV
Individual state laws govern title transfers, so the specific process varies slightly between states. The minimum age to own a vehicle varies by state as well. There's a possibility a teen can't own a vehicle as an individual until he reaches the age of 18, or parental consent is required to transfer ownership. Contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles for instructions. The department can also provide information regarding any fees associated with the transfer.
Review the Title
The title to your car is a physical certificate or document that you sign over to the teen. You must own the car outright to successfully transfer ownership. If you still owe money on the loan, you can't simply transfer the title. If your title still lists a lien holder even though your loan is paid in full, you must request a notarized lien release from the lender.
Sign the Title
Use the form on the back of the title to sell or transfer ownership. It states all of the information to enter into each area. You must provide the teen's full name and address, for example. Additionally, you will likely fill in the car's VIN number, odometer reading and sale's price. If you are giving the car to the teen as a gift, you can enter an arbitrary amount such a $1, or the word "gift" on that line. Once you have completed the form entirely, both you and the teen need to sign. Your state may require the signatures to be notarized.
Like the other components of the title transfer process, taxation is also state-specific. States commonly impose a tax on cars that are given as gifts. However, some states, such as California, offer an exemption for transfers made between family members. If your state offers an exemption, you'll need to complete the required paperwork or forms. The federal government imposes a gift tax on the donor, unless you're giving to a charity. At the time of publication, the yearly exemption amount was $14,000. Check with the IRS for current amounts.
- California Department of Motor Vehicles: Transfer a Vehicle Between Family Members
- Car Insurance: At What Age Can a Teen Own a Car?
- Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles: Vehicle Titling -- Frequently Asked Questions
- Fox Business: A Parent's Guide to Insuring a Teen Driver
- Rocket Lawyer: Changing Vehicle Ownership -- Getting a Car Title Transferred With the DMV
- Missouri Department of Revenue: Instructions for Completing the Title Assignment
- DMV.org: Gifting Cars and Paying Taxes: The Skinny on Titles and Taxes for Gifted Cars
- Internal Revenue Service: Frequently Asked Questions on Gift Taxes
- Jupiterimages/Stockbyte/Getty Images